On a Serious Note

I’ll get to a new review very soon, but first…

In the early hours of this morning a guy (for reasons known only to him) walked into a movie theater in Colorado and opened fire on an unsuspecting crowd of moviegoers. Those innocent people were seeing a midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises. From the most recent report, 12 people were killed with many, many more injured and shaken up from the ordeal.

Why someone would do something like this is beyond me. It was a truly horrible thing to do, and I have thought about those people in the theater for most of today. I don’t write this entry to rehash the details of the shooting. I write this because of a question a friend asked me earlier this afternoon:

Are you still planning to go see Batman this weekend?

Answer: YES, of course. 

I’m not letting the actions of one deranged person change my behavior and ruin my movie-going experience. I won’t let the fear of something out of my control dictate my actions. As said in Frank Herbert’s Dune (a book everyone should read)  “I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer.”  And yes, it’s from a work of fiction, but I find it useful. 

Any time something bad happens, we most easily go on the defensive. We batten down the hatches and hide. And that’s a natural reaction, I guess. Tell me you weren’t a teensy bit nervous the first time you boarded a plane after the events of 9/11. It might have lasted 3 seconds, or maybe the entire flight. It was there—that doubt, that tiny fear that it could happen again, and this time to you. The first time I was in the driver’s seat of my car after I had been in a bad wreck, I was a pile of nerves. It took a few times in the car before I could drive without flinching any time someone pulled up behind me.

I predict something similar will happen when folks go into a movie theater. Maybe it’ll be a second-long thought or maybe it will be the whole film, but folks will understandably be a little nervous. Again, normal. A movie theater should be a place of escape—a safe zone, and now that feeling of security is fractured. But I’m not going to let the fear of an idea that another shooting stop me from going. Something like that could happen at any time any day in any place. We can’t hide at home. If we stop our lives, the crazy people win.

I’ve heard that theaters across the country are beefing up security, and I appreciate that.  I think that will be a comfort.  So yeah… I’ll be heading to the movies as planned this weekend. I hope you will too.

About Andrea

Movie watcher; book addict; popular culture connoisseur; avid Tetris player. That's me!

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well said. So many things are out of our control and it is impossible to comprehend why these senseless acts occur. My heart goes out to the families in Colorado, and I will be keeping them in my thoughts and prayers as I get ready to see The Dark Knight this weekend.

  2. For the past 3 years my main focus has been human geography. I can’t seem to wrap my mind around how so many horrifying and sociopathic events have come out of such a seemingly idyllic place. I know several people who have lived in CO and even the Denver area and they say its one of the best places in the country to live.

    And then mass shootings on random innocents happen. Columbine is in the Denver urban area, too. Perhaps the violent crime rate is so low that when it happens it makes the national news. But what explains the tremendous level of violence of those few acts? Perhaps there is too much pressure to appear perfect? Violent screams for attention?

    The only thing the rest of the nation needs to fear are copy-cats. This is definitely not a nationwide phenomena. Fear is both a dangerous emotion and tool of control. (TSA, anyone?) Security will skyrocket when realistically there’s no need to panic on the grand scale. What in the world is up with Denver? More Yoga studios than most states and yet still they have crazies?

