“I didn’t know he was in this!”

You know what I love? Wait. Don’t answer that. There is a really long list that is always in flux.  Let me start over.  Ahem…

Do you know what I love when I watch an older movie (by older, I mean it has been around for longer than 5 years)? I love seeing a now-popular actor/actress who at the time of said movie only played a small or supporting role. It’s like seeing them before they were them!

Case in point: Cellular. Though this movie came out in 2004, I had yet to see it until this past weekend. What can I say? I just kept putting it off. Anyways, there I was watching Chris Evans (yum) driving all over town trying to stay on the phone with and save a kidnapped Kim Basinger (where is she these days?). And who was the bad guy in the movie? Jason Statham.

I had no idea he was in this film. None at all. He tends to play sort of an antihero role in his films for the most part. He’s the bad boy you just love cause you know he’s not all that bad. Well in this film, he’s a total baddie. His character also had little to no personality. Really, he just looked threatening and used a passable American accent. Kudos for the accent work, btw!

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe everyone else who saw Cellular back almost 10 years ago already knew who Statham was. By 2004, he had a number of movie hits already under his belt. Whatever. I enjoyed the surprise casting (well surprise for me apparently).

How about you, fearless readers? Have you ever “discovered” a familiar face in a movie from several years back? If so, who/what?

About Andrea

Movie watcher; book addict; popular culture connoisseur; avid Tetris player. That's me!

Posted on May 15, 2013, in Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I never noticed this before and I suspect it might be a sham, but I’m going to have to review The Labyrinth to see if David Bowie’s face really is all over the scenery. Someone posted this to reddit a few days ago: http://imgur.com/a/wfmKQ

    I suspect you would know the truth behind the Labyrinth Bowie faces.

    • I know you see his face in two scenes. Not sure about the others. The more Bowie the better as far as I’m concerned.

